Mina Gabor, PHD


Faith-based Tourism: The Significance of 2021

Dr. Gabor is a visible leader engaged in numerous government and non- government activities. She previously served for 18 years in Philippine government under Four Philippine Presidents, President Ferdinand Marcos, President Cory Aquino , President Fidel Ramos and President Joseph Estrada either as Secretary of Tourism and Undersecretary of Trade. Her involvement in National and International organizations is also exemplary, being part of major organizations such as United Nations Trade Center, the International Finance Corporation of the World Bank, the UN World Tourism Organization, the Asian Productivity Organization in Japan, Clark International Airport Corporation and various organizations in the Philippine provinces.

She is well-remembered as recipients of various prestigious awards such as Philippine Legion of Honor Award, 12 Outstanding Women in Government by the National Press Club in 1998, 100 Outstanding Women of the Philippines in 1998, Top 35 Most Powerful Women in Travel by the New York’s “Travel Agent” Newsweekly Magazine, 1988 International Award for Outstanding Performance in Export Promotion and many more. She established the Center for International Trade Expositions and Mission (CITEM), the export promotion arm of the Department of Trade and she strongly pursued domestic tourism while in the Department of Tourism with the now famous slogan “Huwag maging Dayuhan sa Sariling Bayan” (Don‟t be a stranger in Your Own Country), and started several tourism products like the pilgrimage tours, farm tourism, and others. Dr. Mina Gabor continues to make her mark in history as she is the founder and current President of the International School of Sustainable Tourism a school for trainers both for foreign and local students, faculty members and those involved in the tourism business.

Former Member of the Board, Philippine Overseas Employment Administration (POEA) President, International School of Sustainable Tourism (ISST) President, Homestay Philippines Incorporated. (HPI) Charter President of the Rotary Club of Pasay Maharlika Chair Emeritus of the Philippines-Canada Business Council President of the Philippine Small and Medium Business Development Foundation, Inc. (Philsmed) Chair of the Ecotourism Society of the Philippines Chair Emeritus of the Philippine Chapter of the International Women’s Forum Director of the Automobile Association Philippines Board and President of AAP (Travel) Lakbay, Inc
She earned her PH. D. in Entreprenology at the International University of Entreprenology in Hawaii. Within her own country and in her travels to various other countries she actively advocates an approach to sustainable tourism and eco-tourism that she calls “community-based rural tourism.” A writer, designer, broadcast journalist, painter, lecturer, negotiator, product merchandiser, a leader and best of all she is a Filipina.